How to Perform a Factory Reset on an LG K30 Phone While Powered Off

Objective

  • To reset the phone to a factory state while powered off

Environment

Procedure

Note: A Factory Reset will erase all of your personal content from the phone. To ensure your personal information is backed up, refer to How to Back Up Contacts, Photos, Videos, Apps, Music, Messages, or Other Miscellaneous Files and Before You Perform a Factory Reset.

  1. Power off the phone and unplug any USB or power cables from the phone
    1. Hold down the power button until the power off / restart options appear on screen.
    2. Tap Power off and tap again to confirm it when asked
    • Note: If the phone cannot be turned off, let the battery drain until the phone turns off, then charge the phone for 30 minutes and unplug any USB or power cables from the phone 
  2. Once the phone has completed powering off, press and hold both the volume-down and power buttons.
  3. The moment the LG logo appears on screen, release only the power button, then press it again and continue holding both buttons.
  4. Release both buttons when you see the mostly white screen titled Factory data reset
  5. Press and release the volume-down button to highlight Yes on the screen.
  6. Press and release the power button to select that Yes choice.
  7. Press and release the volume-down button again, and then press and release the power button again to confirm the factory reset.
  8. After the phone restarts:
    • If you are selling the phone, giving it away, or returning it to Republic, the factory reset is now complete, and you can power off the phone.
    • If you are factory resetting the phone to solve an issue, continue with the instructions in set up the phone with no third-party apps.

Additional Notes

  • To restore contacts, photos, and apps associated with Google, you must have the correct Google account login information. Resetting without this information puts you at risk of permanently being locked out of your phone and/or losing personal information.
    • Note: Do not change your Google account password for 72 hours before or after your factory reset. Doing so may lock you out of your phone for an additional 72 hours for security purposes.

Article Created From

  • 1621619, confirmed by Directly Expert knowledge in 1665227

Having trouble finding the answer you’re looking for? Ask an Expert Member.
(Our Experts are not staff, but their knowledge of our service and phones is outstanding!)