What is the Google Killswitch?

Environment

Answer

With Android 5.1, Google implemented a kill switch that is automatically enabled when you set a screen lock and link the device to your Google account. A Google account username and password are required to complete the setup process after a frozen factory reset. Without the necessary login, the device is essentially “frozen” for anyone but the rightful owner.

Additional Notes

To avoid this, complete a factory reset from the settings app on your phone prior to selling, returning or giving the phone away.

 

Having trouble finding the answer you’re looking for? Ask an Expert Member.
(Our Experts are not staff, but their knowledge of our service and phones is outstanding!)