What is Google's Factory Reset Protection Feature?

Environment

Answer

Google's factory reset protection helps prevent other people from using your phone if it gets reset to factory settings without your permission. It requires you to sign in with the Google account that was last associated with the phone prior to being reset. This feature is built into all Android phones and is not something Republic, or any carrier, is able to override.

While the factory reset protection feature on cellular phones has had a positive impact on reducing the number of phone thefts since its release, it has also posed a negative effect as well. If you are unable to provide the correct e-mail and password for the original Google account associated with the phone it will result in the phone being no longer usable.

Additional Notes

  • If you reset your Google Account password and need to do a factory reset, wait 24 - 72 hours after changing your password before resetting your phone. For security, you can't use an account to set up a device after reset if that password changed within 24 hours. If the device is still running Android Lollipop 5.1, that changes to 72 hours.
  • If you have completed a factory reset on your phone and cannot get past the Google login screen, you will need to contact Google Support for further assistance. 

Article Created From

  • 1247134

Having trouble finding the answer you’re looking for? Ask an Expert Member.
(Our Experts are not staff, but their knowledge of our service and phones is outstanding!)