How to Perform a Factory Reset for a Samsung Galaxy Phone While Powered Off

Objective

  • To reset the phone to a factory state while powered off

Environment

Procedure

NOTE: This reset will erase all data from the phone. See additional notes to backup data prior to the reset.

  1. Power off the phone and unplug any USB or power cables from the phone
    • Note: If the phone cannot be turned off, let the battery drain until the phone turns off, then charge the phone for 30 minutes and unplug any USB or power ables from the phone
  2. Press and hold both the VOL UPPOWER  and HOME (BIXBY for S8 and S8+) buttons at the same time for 2-3 seconds, then release all three buttons once the Android logo appears
  3. The Android Recovery Menu should appear after about 30 seconds. Use VOL DOWN to scroll through the options to Wipe data/factory reset and press the POWER button to select it
  4. Use the VOL DOWN button to select Yes
  5. Press the POWER button to confirm
  6. Once formatting is complete, press the POWER button to confirm a Reboot system now. Your phone will reboot normally
  7. After the phone restarts, please select Don't restore during the setup and after signing in to your Google account, to setup the phone as a new device

Additional Notes

If you had a screen lock set up (pin, pattern or password) prior to performing a factory reset, you'll be asked to enter the Google email address and password associated with your phone during the setup process

An external factory reset will reset your phone to a cleared state - apps, internal memory, contacts, photos/videos, or other personal info will not be backed up or synced automatically. Any firmware updates you have installed will still be on your phone. To ensure your personal information is backed up, please refer to How to Back Up Contacts, Photos, Videos, Apps, Music, Messages, or Other Miscellaneous Files

You must have the correct Google account login information before resetting the device. Resetting without this information puts you at risk of permanently being locked out of your device.

  • Note: Do not change your Google account password for 72 hours before or after your factory reset, as it may lock you out of your phone for an additional 72 hours for security purposes.

Article Created From

  • 1245994

Having trouble finding the answer you’re looking for? Ask an Expert Member.
(Our Experts are not staff, but their knowledge of our service and phones is outstanding!)