How to Perform Factory Reset on a 1.0 or 2.0 Phone via the Settings Menu

Objective

  • To reset the phone to a factory state in the Settings menu

Environment

Procedure

  1. To ensure your personal information is backed up, please refer to How to Back Up Contacts, Photos, Videos, Apps, Music, Messages, or Other Miscellaneous Files
  2. Open Settings
  3. Tap Backup & reset
  4. Tap Factory data reset
  5. Tap RESET PHONE
  6. Tap ERASE EVERYTHING
  7. After the phone restarts, it will take you through setup; after signing in to your Google account, select Set up as new device to setup the phone as a new device

Additional Notes

A factory reset will reset your phone to a cleared state - apps, internal memory, contacts, photos/videos, or other personal info will not be backed up or synced automatically. Any firmware updates you have installed will still be on your phone. 


Article Created From

  • 1233755

Having trouble finding the answer you’re looking for? Ask an Expert Member.
(Our Experts are not staff, but their knowledge of our service and phones is outstanding!)