Republic Anywhere is a suite of apps that lets you use your Republic phone number to send SMS (text) and MMS (picture/group) messages from any of your compatible devices, on WiFi and cellular, like your computer or tablet. Anywhere syncs your information across your devices so you always have your contacts and latest messages, regardless of what device you’re using.
To get started with Anywhere, simply follow the instructions in How to Install Republic Anywhere.
No, Anywhere is available to you at no additional charge as a Republic Wireless member.
For the full experience of Republic Anywhere, you’ll need to use the Anywhere app as your default SMS/MMS app on your phone. If you use a third party messaging app as your default, messages sent to and from you using your phone will still sync to your computer, but any messages sent from your computer will not sync to your phone.
To see if your devices are compatible and for a full list of supported devices, please see Republic Anywhere Minimum System Requirements.
You can use Anywhere on up to 5 devices, including your phone, per service line, at any given time. If you’ve already installed Anywhere on 5 devices and want to add another, you’ll need to deregister one of your other devices first. For more information, please read How to Deregister a Device from Republic Anywhere.
The account owner must assign a user to an active service line on their account to allow that user access to the Anywhere service. Account owners have full access to messaging history, through the desktop app, for service lines that aren’t assigned to a specific user. For more information on how to assign users to service lines on your account, please read the “Assign This Phone” section of My Account.
When adding a new Anywhere endpoint, messages from the previous 30 days will be synced to the new endpoint. (The message history will then be stored locally on the device until you uninstall the app, or reset local content.)
When you archive messages, you’re simply hiding the conversation. If you were to continue the conversation with the same recipient(s), the archived message history will be shown again. However, when you delete messages, those messages are permanently removed from your device. Currently, the ability to delete messages is only available on your phone.
All you need to do is uninstall Anywhere from your phone and any devices that you have installed it on.
Yes, users can sign out and sign in as needed on shared devices. The only exception is your Republic phone, in which case only the phone number associated with that phone can be used with Anywhere.
Anywhere supports most major image formats such as .JPEG, .PNG, .GIF (up to 1 MB), etc. At this time, Anywhere doesn’t support sending videos from the Windows or macOS app. We’re working on having this feature available in the future; in the meantime, you can still send videos from your Android phone.
No, data used by Anywhere will not count against your monthly data limit.